Special Topics


These websites offer in-depth explanation and analysis for special topic interests in women’s studies.

Body Image:
About Face: www.aboutface.org
Adios, Barbie: www.adiosbarbie.com
Adipositivity (possibly NSFW):   http://www.adipositivity.com/

Education and Advocacy:
American Association of University Women (AAUW):  http://www.aauw.org/
National Women's and Gender Studies Association (NWSA): http://www.nwsa.org/

Equal Pay:

National Committee on Pay Equity: www.pay-equity.org
National Commission for Promotion of Equality (NCPE): www.equality.gov.mt/
Equality and Human Rights Commission: www.equalityhumanrights.com
WAGE Project: www.wageproject.org 

Faith and Feminism
Christians for Biblical Equality: http://www.cbeinternational.org/
Alliance of Faith and Feminism: http://www.faithfeminism.org/
Wild Goose Festival: http://www.wildgoosefestival.org/

Feminist news:
Feministing:  http://www.feministing.com
Feminist Majority Foundation:  http://www.feminist.org/ 

Feminist Organizations:
National Organization for Women: www.now.org
National Council of Women’s Organizations: www.womensorganizations.org
National Women’s Studies Association: www.nwsa.org
Feminist Majority Foundation: www.feminist.org 

Feminism and Pop Culture:
http://geekfeminism.org 
http://www.bust.com
http://bitchmagazine.org/

Global Feminism:
WOW! Work of Women: www.workofwomen.org
AWID Association for Women’s Rights in Development: www.awid.org
Women’s Human Rights: www.whrnet.org
Women’s Watch: www.un.org/womenwatch 

LGBT:
GLBT National Help Center: www.glnh.org
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force: www.thetaskforce.org
Atticus Circle: www.atticuscircle.org
Gay Straight Alliance Network: http://gsanetwork.org/ 

Men and Feminism:
Men Can Stop Rape: www.mencanstoprape.org
National Organization for Men Against Sexism: www.nomas.org
Male Survivor: www.malesurvivor.org
Men’s Nonviolence Project (Texas Council on Family Violence): www.tcfv.org 

Motherhood:
Moms Rising: www.momsrising.org  
Planned Parenthood: www.plannedparenthood.org
International Cesarean Awareness Network: www.ican-online.org
Mothering Magazine: www.mothering.com 

Sex Trafficking:
Coalition Against Sex Trafficking In Women: www.catwinternational.org/
Human Trafficking: www.humantrafficking.org
GEMS: Girls Education & Monitoring Services: www.gems-girls.org
Somaly Mam Foundation: http://www.somaly.org/ 

Stopping Violence:
V-Day Movement to Stop Violence Against Women and girls: www.vday.org
Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom: www.wilpf.org

Sweatshops:
National Mobilization Against Sweatshops: www.nmass.org
United Students Against Sweatshops: www.studentsagainstsweatshops.org
Feminist Against Sweatshops: www.feminist.org.other/sweatshops/ 

Women and Law:
Women’s Law Initiative: http://www.womenslaw.org
http://www.laws.com/  

Women In History:
National Women’s History Project: http://www.nwhp.org/whm/index.php
HerStory: focuses on the last four years of the women's suffrage campaign as chronicled by the New York Times: www.herstoryscrapbook.com
Internships/Jobs: Sign up for the Weekly Feminist Job Digest at http://feminist.org/911/jobs/joblisting.asp
Favorite Facts about Women's History Month: http://msmagazine.com/blog/blog/2011/04/01/all-the-things-i-learned-during-womens-history-month 

Women of Color:
Native American Women on the WWW: http://womenst.library.wisc.edu/native.htm
Indigenous Women’s Network: www.indigenouswomen.org
The Women’s Mosaic: www.thewomensmosaic.org
Making Face, Making Soul: A Chicana Feminist Website: www.chicanas.com
Black Women’s Health Imperative: www.blackwomenshealth.org
Black Women in Sisterhood for Action (BWSA): www.bisa-hq.org