Academic Calendar 2017-2018


Spring Semester 2018

January 5, Friday - Online add/drop for cleared returning students opens at 8:00 am

January 8, Monday - Classes Begin

January 11, Thursday - Final day to change schedules for full term and 1st 7-week; on-line add/drop closes at 4:00 pm; (courses on schedule after this date apply towards HOPE)

January 15, Monday - Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no classes) January 26, Friday - Last day to withdraw with automatic W grade for 1st 7-week courses

February 9, Friday - Final day to withdraw with automatic grade of W for full term courses; final day to withdraw with W or WF for 1st 7-week courses

February 23, Friday - First 7-week classes end

February 24, Saturday - Online grading for 1st 7 week courses opens @ 7:00 AM; closes Mon, 3/5 @ 10 AM

February 26, Monday - Second 7-week classes begin

February 26,  Monday - Senior Exit Examinations (major field)

February 27, Tuesday - Last day to add/drop 2nd 7-week classes

March 12-16 - Spring Break (no classes)

March 19-23 - Advisement, Week 1

March 19-April 6 - Application for Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 graduation (VikingWeb)

March 23, Friday - Last day to withdraw with automatic W grade for 2nd 7-week classes

March 26-30 - Advisement, Week 2

March 26-April 6 - Fall and Summer pre-registration

March 30, Friday - Good Friday (no classes)

April 6, Friday - Last day to withdraw with W or WF full term and 2nd 7-week classes; - Deadline for Cultural Events for May graduating students

April 10, Tuesday - Symposium on Student Scholarship - classes suspended

April 24, Tuesday - Last day of classes

April 25, Wednesday - Reading Day

April 26, Thursday - Online grading opens @ 7 AM April 26-May 2 - Final Exams (Thursday-Wednesday)

May 2, Wednesday - Grades for graduating students due 10:00 AM

May 2, Wednesday - Baccalaureate

May 4, Friday - Graduate Student Commencement

May 5, Saturday - Undergraduate Student Commencement

May 7, Monday - All grades due to Registrar’s Office by 10:00 AM (online grading closes)

Summer Semester 2018

May 14, Monday - Block A (UG and GR—5 weeks) and Block C (UG and GR—10 weeks) begin

May 15, Tuesday - Deadline to add/drop Block A & C Classes (4 PM)

May 25, Friday - Final day to withdraw from Block A classes with automatic grade of W

May 28, Monday - Memorial Day (no classes)

June 4, Monday - Block D (GR—6 weeks) begins

June 5, Tuesday - Deadline to add/drop Block D classes (4 PM)

June 6, Wednesday - Final day to withdraw from Block A with W or WF

June 15, Friday - Final day to withdraw from Block D with automatic grade of W

June 15, Friday - Block A ends

June 18, Monday - Block B (UG and GR—5 weeks) begins

June 19, Tuesday - Deadline to add/drop Block B classes (4 PM)

June 29, Friday - Final day to withdraw from Block B, C or D with W or WF

July 4, Wednesday - Independence Day (no classes)

July 6, Friday - Block D ends July 20, Friday - Blocks B and C end

July 27, Friday - Grading CLOSES

August 10, Friday - Conferral of diplomas for students completing all degree requirements during summer term