Academic Calendar 2017


Spring Semester 2017 

January 6, Friday - Online add/drop for cleared returning students opens at 8:00 am

January 9, Monday - Classes Begin

January 12, Thursday - Final day to change schedules for full term and 1st 7-week; on-line add/drop closes at 4:00 pm; (courses on schedule after this date apply towards HOPE)

January 16, Monday - Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no classes)

January 27, Friday - Last day to withdraw with automatic W grade for 1st 7-week courses

February 10, Friday - Final day to withdraw with automatic grade of W for full term courses; final day to withdraw with W or WF for 1st 7-week courses

February 24, Friday - First 7-week classes end

February 26, Saturday - Online grading for 1st 7 week courses opens @ 7:00 AM; closes Mon, 3/06 @ 10 AM

February 27, Monday - Second 7-week classes begin

February 27, Monday - Senior Exit Examinations (major field)

February 28, Tuesday - Last day to add/drop 2nd 7-week classes

March 13-17 - Spring Break (no classes)

March 19-24 - Advisement, Week 1

March 24, Friday - Last day to withdraw with automatic W grade for 2nd 7-week classes

March 27-31 - Advisement, Week 2

March 27-April 7 - Fall and Summer pre-registration

March 20-April 7 - Application for Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 graduation (VikingWeb)

April 4, Tuesday - Symposium on Student Scholarship - classes suspended

April 7, Friday - Last day to withdraw with W or WF full term and 2nd 7-week classes; Deadline for Cultural Events for May graduating students

April 14, Friday - Good Friday (no classes)

April 25, Tuesday - Last day of classes

April 26, Wednesday - Reading Day

April 27, Thursday - Online grading opens @ 7 AM

April 27-May 3 - Final Exams (Thursday-Wednesday)

May 3, Wednesday - Grades for graduating students due 10:00 AM

May 3, Wednesday - Baccalaureate

May 5, Friday - Graduate Student Commencement

May 6, Saturday - Undergraduate Student Commencement

May 8, Monday - All grades due to Registrar’s Office by 10:00 AM (online grading closes)

Summer Semester 2017 

May 15, Monday - Block A (UG and GR—5 weeks) and Block C (UG and GR—10 weeks) begin

May 16, Tuesday - Deadline to add/drop Block A & C Classes (4 PM)

May 26, Friday - Final day to withdraw from Block A classes with automatic grade of W

May 29, Monday - Memorial Day (no classes)

June 5, Monday - Block D (GR—6 weeks) begins

June 6, Tuesday - Deadline to add/drop Block D classes (4 PM)

June 7, Wednesday - Final day to withdraw from Block A with W or WF

June 16, Friday - Final day to withdraw from Block D with automatic grade of W

June 16, Friday - Block A ends

June 19, Monday - Block B (UG and GR—5 weeks) begins

June 20, Tuesday - Deadline to add/drop Block B classes (4 PM)

June 30, Friday - Final day to withdraw from Block B, C or D with W or WF

July 4, Tuesday - Independence Day (no classes)

July 7, Friday - Block D ends

July 21, Friday - Blocks B and C end

July 28, Friday - Grading CLOSES

August 11, Friday - Conferral of diplomas for students completing all degree requirements during summer term