Academic Calendar 2018-2019


Fall Semester

July 10, Tuesday First payment due for fall semester courses

August 17, Friday On-line add/drop for cleared returning students opens at 8 AM

August 20, Monday Classes Begin

August 23, Thursday Final day to change schedules; on-line add/drop closes at 4 PM  (courses on schedule after this day apply towards HOPE)

September 3, Monday Labor Day (no classes)

September 5, Wednesday Final day to withdraw with automatic grade of W for 1st 7-week courses

September 21, Friday Final date to withdraw with automatic grade of W for full term courses;  
Last day to withdraw with W or WF for 1st 7-week courses

October 5, Friday Mountain Day activities, no classes after 2:00 pm

October 5, Friday First 7-week classes end

October 6, Saturday Mountain Day

October 6, Saturday Online grading opens for 1st 7-week courses @ 7 AM; closes Mon. 10/15 @ 10 AM

October 8, Monday Second 7-week classes begin

October 9, Tuesday Final day to add/drop a 2nd 7-week class

October 13-16, Sat.-Tues. Fall Weekend, no classes

October 22, Monday Senior exit examinations (major field)

October 22-Oct. 26 Advisement, Week 1

October 26, Friday Last day to withdraw with W grade for 2nd 7-week classes

October 29-November 2 Advisement, Week 2 October 29-November 9 Pre-registration (closes at 4 PM, Nov. 20)

October 29-November 16 Late Application for Spring 2019 Graduation; Application open for Fall 2019 (VikingWeb)

November 9, Friday Last day to withdraw with W or WF for full term and 2nd 7-week classes; Deadline for Cultural Events for students graduating in December

November 21-23 Thanksgiving Holidays (no classes)

November 30, Friday Last day of classes

December 3, Monday Online grading opens @ 7:00 AM

December 3-7 Final examinations (Monday-Friday)

December 10, Monday First payment due for spring semester courses

December 10, Monday All grades due to Registrar’s Office by 10:00 AM (online grading closes)

December 14, Friday Conferral of diplomas for students completing all degree requirements during fall term

Spring Semester 2019

January 4, Friday Online add/drop for cleared returning students opens at 8:00 am

January 7, Monday Classes Begin

January 10, Thursday Final day to change schedules for full term and 1st 7-week; on-line add/drop closes at 4:00 pm; (courses on schedule after this date apply towards HOPE)

January 21, Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no classes)

January 25, Friday Last day to withdraw with automatic W grade for 1st 7-week courses

February 8, Friday Final day to withdraw with automatic grade of W for full term courses; final day to withdraw with W or WF for 1st 7-week courses

February 22, Friday First 7-week classes end

February 23, Saturday Online grading for 1st 7 week courses opens @ 7:00 AM; closes Wed, 2/27 @ 10 AM

February 25, Monday Second 7-week classes begin

February 25,  Monday Senior Exit Examinations (major field)

February 26, Tuesday Last day to add/drop 2nd 7-week classes

March 11-15 Spring Break (no classes)

March 20, Wednesday Last day to withdraw with automatic W grade for 2nd 7-week classes

March 18-22 Advisement, Week 1

March 18-April 5 Application for Fall 2018 and Spring 2019 graduation (VikingWeb)

March 25-29 Advisement, Week 2

March 25-April 5 Fall and Summer pre-registration

April 5, Friday Last day to withdraw with W or WF full term and 2nd 7-week classes; Deadline for Cultural Events for May graduating students 

April 9, Tuesday Symposium on Student Scholarship - classes suspended

April 19, Friday Good Friday (no classes)

April 23, Tuesday Last day of classes

April 24, Wednesday Reading Day

April 25, Thursday Online grading opens @ 7 AM

April 25-May 1 Final Exams (Thursday-Wednesday)

May 1, Wednesday Grades for graduating students due 10:00 AM

May 1, Wednesday Baccalaureate

May 3, Friday Graduate Student Commencement

May 4, Saturday Undergraduate Student Commencement

May 6, Monday All grades due to Registrar’s Office by 10:00 AM (online grading closes) Summer Semester 2019

May 13, Monday Block A (UG and GR—5 weeks) and Block C (UG and GR—10 weeks) begin

May 14, Tuesday Deadline to add/drop Block A & C Classes (4 PM)

May 24, Friday Final day to withdraw from Block A classes with automatic grade of W

May 27, Monday Memorial Day (no classes)

June 3, Monday Block D (GR—6 weeks) begins

June 4, Tuesday Deadline to add/drop Block D classes (4 PM)

June 5, Wednesday Final day to withdraw from Block A with W or WF

June 14, Friday Final day to withdraw from Block D with automatic grade of W

June 14, Friday Block A ends

June 17, Monday Block B (UG and GR—5 weeks) begins

June 18, Tuesday Deadline to add/drop Block B classes (4 PM)

June 28, Friday Final day to withdraw from Block B, C or D with W or WF

July 4, Thursday Independence Day (no classes)

July 12, Friday Block D ends

July 19, Friday Blocks B and C end

July 20, Saturday Grading OPENS for all Summer Blocks (Grading CLOSES July 26, Friday)

August 9, Friday Conferral of diplomas for students completing all degree requirements during summer term